The Rewind Button- The Sun Sessions

I LOVE ELVIS. I love him all sweet and country, i love him in gold lame, i love him as an over weight rhinestone studded vegas act. I think alot of it comes from my love of Full House as a child, and John Stamos’s characters afinity for him.

The Sun Sessions is a great compilation album, in a way it makes me feel like im in my grandmas’ house listening to an old record player, antsy to listen to the mexican hat dance, but settling for some  Elvis. it takes me back, to a time that i wish i had been around for, a time when being successful in music wasn’t determined by how many twitter followers you had, or where you placed in American Idol. it was about the music.

but to be a little different this week, im gonna talk specifically about one song on the album. ‘I Forgot To Remember To Forget’.  This song is the ethos of why i love elvis, its country with a heart and chillingly beautiful lryics. The Beatles, Johnny Cash, Chris Isaac and a bunch of other musicians have covered this song, and they are all great. Nothing beats the original, all though the Chris Issac version comes close.

I forgot to remember to forget her,
I can’t seem to get her off my mind.
I thought I’d never miss her,
But I found out somehow
I think about her almost all the time.
The day she went away
I made myself a promise
That I’d soon forget we ever met.
But something sure is wrong,
‘Cause I’m so blue and lonely.
I forgot to remember to forget.

The day she went away
I made myself a promise
That I’d soon forget we ever met,
Well, but something sure is wrong,
‘Cause I’m so blue and lonely.
I forgot to remember to forget.

I mean come on. Those are words that most girls would KILL for a man to write for her. It makes me think of all the feelings that come back to you when you see an old love, or a old flame. Hell even the feelings that come up when you see a old spark. Sometimes the past sucks, so you try to remember to forget. but its not always as easy as it seems.

In a cool little twist, this is also the name of one of my favorite One Tree Hill flash back episodes, so its like I get 2 blogs in one! woo hoo!

Bottom Line, buy the album, listen to it, find the song that makes you wanna hit repeat, and then keep it in your heart. and every once in awhile play it loud, play it so the neighbours can make out every note clear as day.

until next time

- be a river with me

One thought on “The Rewind Button- The Sun Sessions

  1. Pingback: Rewind Button- Elvis, The Sun Sessions « Betty LIVIN

Leave a Reply

