be a river with me.

“be a river with me, be the storm, the bend in the path, the front porch, the heat in the south, be a boot full of bango strings, a fistfull of written songs, a mouthfull of chocolate dust”- Anis Mogjani.

By some cosmic lottery, I was lucky enough to be born when I was, where I was. I am a 20-something who is a proud Canadian. I love what I love and refuse to apologize for it, namely in the arts world. Music, poetry, history… i love it all. I give major cudos to anyone who creates something puts it out into the world to lets face it, be un mercilessly judged and critiqued.  So for my first blog, Im going to put myself out there, not as freely or as openly as some, but a start is a start right?

Music is my life blood. Someone, (i think Tennessee Williams) wrote, “in memory everything seems to happens to music” i know it does for me, i cant tell you what I was wearing at my grandmas’ funeral when I was 9, but I can tell you how i felt when ‘On Eagles Wings’ played through the church. Or what I was wearing the first time I realized I knew all the words to a song (Jack and Diane- John Mellencamp) or what the weather was like when I first made out with a guy to Eric Clapton (god bless Layla). But I can tell you how amazing each of those moments felt, like I was invincible, nothing could touch me. So theres a REALLY good chance that this blog will become both a pulpit for me to try to get people to listen to music that I love and has changed my life, as well as a place for people to share new music with me, I want to hear the hidden gems that make someone else smile.

Poetry has become more and more important to me in the last 5 years. Theres just something so pure, so honest about putting all of your feelings out there in a poem. I moved to a new province about 3 years ago and of the countless things I have learnt and been introduced to, slam poetry is one of the most lasting (although the awesomeness of a Rootbeer Paralyzer is a close second). A good friend, who in many ways is my own Jiminy Cricket of Art, introduced me to Anis Mogjani one day, and it changed my life. Anis’s words resonate with me in a way that no one else does, his words are my blogs’ namesake. In fact, one of his poems is why im doing the whole  blog thing.

History is my true passion, given the choice between a Kennedy book and a new CD, I’d have a tough choice.  History has been a constant to me in the past 10 years, peticularly, my penchant for Current History, I know thats an oxymoron. I’ll explain more about that term in a future post, but for now let me leave you with this quote from a CNN press release the day President Obama was innagurated: “There is a moment, a simple moment, before history gets recorded. Before it goes in the books. Before it appears as a question on a game show. Or on a midterm exam. A moment right before the headline is written. There is a moment when history lives in the present. When we can watch it unfold in real time, right before our eyes. And we can all assume our place in it. Some people live for history. We live for the moment just before.”

i live for the moment just before. i live for me.

until next time,

Be a River with me.

Leave a Reply

