rock out (faux literati and One Tree Hill)

The other day at work a co-worker and I got into a disscussion about quotes. Ones that mean something to us. Now the co-worker I was talking to is an amazing person, but lacks a certain depth.

I’m entirley sure that she’s never read anything of her own volition, rather she sees what other people are reading. Her ex-fiancee was a pertentious ass who thought that Heminway was the epitomy of liturature, and would scoff at mentions of other influental authors like John Steinbeck, Harper Lee, Jack Kerouc, Albert Camus, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr, Ayn Rand, Margret Atwood, the list goes on and on. So he “turned her” on to Hemigway and the Brownings, (whom she whole-heartedly believes are brother and sister, FACT: Robert Browning and Elizabeth Barrett Browning are actually husband and wife). I just checked her facebook to see  what she listed as her favourtie books, then checked mine to see if they look lame or not, I dont think they do, ( Why We Suck by Denis Leary, Of Mice and Men by Steinbeck, On the Road, Water for Elephants, Stories I Only Tell My Friends, Catcher In the Rye, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Profiles in Courage, The Audacity of Hope, The Day Kennedy Was Shot, Palo Alto Stories, A Thousand Days, and Last Words).

I dont want to come off as a literary snob by any means, I will admit that I own the Twlight serise (and LOVED everyone) and the last book I read was a Nicholas Sparks book. I just think if you boast being an English major, and your douche bag of a fiancee “reads alot” (his definition of reading was “open book, sit in public place and begin reading it, then take unfinished book to partys so you have a talking point), don’t feed me some bullshit line that your “re-reading some Hemingway” or “you should really pick up a copy of Whitman poems”. Guess what.  I was reading Whitman when Chad Micheal Murray said something about it in One Tree Hill.

One Tree Hill. theres something I can go on for awhile about. I will admit it, I am a OTH junkie. I have been late for meetings because I was watching old episodes, I cried when Keith died, I cheered when Lucas picked Peyton and yeah, I even watch it since CMM and Hilarie Burton left.  One Tree Hill has actually morphed into this weird inspiration point for me. It for alot of years the epicenter of my grown up musical trails, any song that was in an episode, I downloaded (legally), I wanted to get some of the lyrics as tattoos,  I looked up artists that were on the show (how I fell in love with Fall Out Boy), and I even bought a gutair in a vain hope to be a part of some  version of the ‘Hayley gets discovered in a cafe and tours the country’ plotline.

I fell in love with the OTH music, Mark Schwan (the creator) even said in an interview “The music is like a character, it plays as big of a role as any of the leads” and it does. I also loved the quotes that OTH gave me (im a HUGE lover of quotes, thats a whole other blog) Which is how this OTH rant ties into the  begining of the blog. For the first 6 or so seasons, the show opened with a voice over or closed with a voice over that was incredibly poignat and fitting to the theme of the episode. I fell in love with these words, I wrote them on my bedroom wall. I used them as openings to papers in university, I read the books that they quoted. Its because of OTH that I read Ida Scott Taylor, William Albert Camus, and Georeg Bernard Shaw. And why I read more Steinbeck and Ralph Waldo Emerson.

OTH opened my eyes to the wonders of new music, new literature and new ways to look at life. This entire rant is really just to say, OPEN YOUR MIND! DONT JUST LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE THAT THINK THERE SMARTER THEN YOU BECAUSE THEY READ HEMINGWAY! FIND YOUR OWN INSPIRATION! I FOUND MINE IN ONE TREE HILL AND YOU CAN FIND YOURS!!!

until next time

-be a river with me

Leave a Reply

