between raising hell and amazing grace.

I’ve been thinking alot about Karma lately.

The whole idea has always intruigued me. As kids my brothers and I were  taught “Do unto others as you would like done unto yourself”. Our parents taught us that if your a good person, then good things will happen to you. I wish I could say that I’ve always belived that, but I cant.

I’ve seen life deal some pretty shitty hands to people I love, and that makes me question the whole principal. I mean why is it that some of the best people I know get cancer, lose the love of there life to a brain hemorahage, loose a parent, witness car accidents, get an addiction or other life changing things. There isnt really a reason, at least as far as I can see.

Cancer has been a part of my life since I could remember, 3 grandparents, my mom, aunts, uncles, friends, friends parents. The list goes on. Not all of there stories have happy endings unfortunatly,the ones that do though, are spectacular.  When my mom got sick I think thats when my general distrust of  the “good things happen to good people” thing started.

I like to think that I’m a good person, I have my flaws which I admit, I drink to much, I swear like a trucker, I’m never put much stock in the “wait for marriage to have sex” idea, but at the end of the day, I like to believe that I am a good person with a good heart. I just dont  get why somethings happen the way they do.

I realized that karma, is alot like the title of the blog; Between Raising Hell and Amazing Grace’. (which is also one of the best episodes in season 8 of One Tree Hill and a Big&Rich song)  The most sence  I can make out of it is that, the idea of getting what you give into the universe almost forces you have to live life as a balance between the terrifying and the comforting (see…between raising hell and amazing grace…it works). Bad things happen to good people,  good things happen to bad people and sometimes, just sometimes, good things happen to good people and bad will happen to bad, and the best any of us can do is hold our breaths and hope that the balance will shift in our favor. In the mean time, grace is alot easier to defend then hell.

until next time,

– be a river with me

One thought on “between raising hell and amazing grace.

  1. Bad things happen to all people, good and bad. Death is inevitable and we will all be touched by it through loved ones and eventually ourselves. What matters is how you choose to live after these terrible things happen. All you can do is be the best person you can be and hope for the best. Love ya Keir!

Leave a Reply

