The Smoker You Drink, the Player You Get

today i turn 25

when i was a freshman in university i had these great plans of what my life would be like at 25 and its not really where i wanted to be but i have to say, im super happy with where i am right now.

i wanted to be married, have a kid and be living in a bustling city (Boston was #1 choice)

i am currently- single, kid-less and living in a national park.

my life kinda rocks though, i live with 5 amazing guys who are hilarious and fun, my family is the greatest and most supportive, i have some of the best friends i could ever ask for, BettyLivin, Dean, Archie, CJ…all the people I talk about here are just the tip of the friends sword, i dont have any kids but am still kinda figuring out how to take care of my self let alone another human, i got promoted this month and now run the restarant and the cafe, i live at the base of 3 ginormous mountains.  and ive seen and done some amazing things over my 25 years; SPRINGSTEEN!!! (i dont think this will ever move from the number one spot of awesome things ive done or seen), friends getting married and starting families, I went to England on a solo 3 week trip, so many amazing live music shows, seen my NHL and NFL teams win championships, graduated university, felt loved by so many people it hurts sometimes.

i cant say im living the life i wished for when i was 19 but i can say with absolute certainty that i have a great life. I have so much love and passion in my life, something that i think alot of people in the world are missing out on.

in writing this i thought of the Denis Learys comedy album ‘No Cure for Cancer’. Theres this part where he talks about people complaining that their lives didnt end up where they thought it would be, heres an excerpt:

“God.. “I’m just not happy. I’m just not happy. I’m just not happy because my life didn’t turn out the way I thought it would.” Hey! Join the fucking club, ok!? I thought I was going to be the starting center fielder for the Boston Red Socks. Life sucks, get a fucking helmet, allright?! “I’m not happy. I’m not happy.” Nobody’s happy, ok!? Happiness comes in small doses folks. It’s a cigarette, or a chocolate cookie, or a five second orgasm. That’s it, ok! You cum, you eat the cookie, you smoke the butt, you go to sleep, you get up in the morning and go to fucking work, ok!? That is it! End of fucking list! “

its a little harsh but you know what, so is Denis, and life.

so im gonna enjoy my cigarettes, eat my chocolate chip cookies and if karma lets me, im gonna enjoy the sexy times.

i was just reminded of a line from ‘Reality Bites’ that Ethan Hawke says that i loved so much i used part of it as my senior high school year book quote,

There’s no point to any of this. It’s all just a… a random lottery of meaningless tragedy and a series of near escapes. So I take pleasure in the details. You know… a Quarter-Pounder with cheese, those are good, the sky about ten minutes before it starts to rain, the moment where your laughter become a cackle… and I, I sit back and I smoke my Camel Straights and I ride my own melt.

so im gonna start trying to enjoy life the way Ethan Hawke and Denis Leary say to,  enjoying the details and those small moments that make our days.

and, my yearbook quote was: “Take pleasure in the details, Rock on and always be humorous” well thats what it was supposed to say but it ended up being “Take pleasure int he details, Rock On and always be numorous” which really doesnt make sence but kinda does.

until next time.

– be a river with me

“The Smoker You Drink, the Player You Get” is an album by Joe Walsh and the title of a Season 8 episode of One Tree Hill

One thought on “The Smoker You Drink, the Player You Get

Leave a Reply

