Summer of Wine…an update

 

So here I am, sitting on my porch on a wonderful afternoon with a glass of wine in my hand.

I suddenly realize, that I have sadly left my Summer of Wine blog un-updated. I will also be ranking them from 1-5, 1 being I wont pay for it again, and 5 being so good I wouldn’t even share with my best of friends.

Reynella Shiraz 

Tried this with my good friend Payton. She was super keen to be a part of Summer of Wine. This was an amazing bottle that was easy to drink, we actually ordered a second bottle before we even finished the first. I really liked it for a few reasons: easy to drink, you have to decant it so you feel kinda fancy, and it works well with meaty dishes without over powering it. This one gets a 4, good to share, not good enough to keep all to myself

Ex Nihlo Merot 

In all honesty I had tried Ex Nihlo in the past, this was before my palate became accustomed to wine and all the amazing pretentiousness that comes along with a “Wine Palate” . This was another bottled shared with Payton, and we both enjoyed it. She devoured hers and I slowly sipped mine. I liked it but wasn’t in love with it. It was a little to harsh for me.  I give this a 3, I’d take it to someones house for a nice dinner party

Shooting Star Merlot

This was the last of 3 wines shared in the same meal as the Ex Nihlo and the Reynella. I’m still not 100% sure how I feel about it, maybe it has something to do with the 3 bottles before and the intermittent martinis, but I digress. This was a nice aperitif wine, it was strong without being bold, as odd as that sounds.  I also give this a 3.

Big Tease Raspberry

This was an odd one, Big Tease is made by ‘Birds and Bees’ which is Alberta’s only organic winery. I thought I was being all ‘urban hipster’ buying this wine, which just goes to show that trying to be “hipster” never works out. I shared this bottle with 2 of my male roommates (Jerome and Tim) who are both from Quebec, and Jerome is a chef whos opinion I trust. We all decided it was “A good patio wine, if its cold. Good for Sangria”. We had it room temp which played a factor once we read the back label (WHO READS THE BACK OF WINE LABELS!!??), in reading it we learnt that its meant to be drank chilled,  which would have made it way better. I give it a 3, could have been a 4 if we drank it the right way. 

Brights Spumante Bambino “Champagne”

I was given a glass of this by a wonderfully hilarious man at a wedding in the winter, and decided to try it again. I loved it!! Its a sweet sparkling wine from Canada and I LOVED IT!! I could (and might have if not for Jerome and Tim) drank the bottle all to myself.  This is a great summer night faux champagne (legally it cant be called a champagne because it wasn’t made in the Champagne Region of France). I am a woman who loves her sparkling wine (Prosecco makes my heart happy)… and as someone once said “In Victory you deserve Champagne. In Defeat you need it” .. this gets a 5.

Wyndamn Estates Chardonay

I am currently drinking a glass of this, and made some punch with it this afternoon, and I have to say I really enjoy it. I tossed a frozen strawberry in it and BAM! Summer cocktail. This is a nice sipping wine, Id happily drink it at dinner or dessert, or in the afternoon in the sunshine… oh wait, I’m already doing it. 4 out of 5.

until next time

– be a river with me

Leave a Reply

